How Recognition of Prior Learning Works

Recognition of Prior Learning is described as a process by which prior learning is formally valued. It is a means by which formal, non-formal and informal learning can be assessed and recognised by ATU.

The application process typically has 5 ‘stages’, these are:

1. Information:

This is where applicants find out about what opportunities exist in ATU and how the process works. RPL Coordinators are available to meet with applicants, to discuss how RPL can work for them.

2. Identification:

Applicants are asked to explore their experiences and learning to date in preparation of an RPL application.  This process follows a meeting with an RPL Coordinator, to discuss all the varied experiences and associated learning that can be valued.

3. Documentation:

Applicants undertake a reflective process and gather relevant materials to support their application. This process is guided by an RPL Coordinator.

4. Assessment:

The application is then assessed by an academic staff member in ATU. A range of assessment mechanisms may be used including portfolios, interviews, essays, or examinations.  The RPL Coordinator will liaise with the assessor on behalf of the applicant to support this process.

5. Certification:

If successful, the applicant will receive formal recognition which can lead to:

  • Entry to a programme

  • Advanced entry to a programme

  • Exemption from some programme modules