ATU win Lynch Cup in 2023 Yoplait Ladies HEC Championships

Tuesday, March 14, 2023 Press Office
Press Releases

ATU Donegal Ladies Gaelic footballers won the Lynch Cup on the final day of a packed weekend of games in the 2023 Yoplait Ladies HEC Championships, hosted by Atlantic Technological University.

The ATU Donegal side beat University College Cork to take the title on Saturday with a scoreline of 1-11 to 1-07 at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence in Bekan, Co. Mayo.

The winning Donegal team went into the final with confidence after beating a strong DCU side in the semi-finals the day before in an impressive performance.

It was a tight game up until half-time when McGarvey netted a goal for ATU to make it 1-4 to 0-4 before extending their lead in the second half and never looked like being caught.

ATU’s goal-scorer Ciara McGarvey received Player of the Match Award for her performance.

Commiserations to ATU Sligo who narrowly missed out in winning the Moynihan Cup Final on Friday in Mayo, losing to DKIT by a single point 0-11 to 2-06.

Congratulations to ATU Sport who were instrumental in the organisation and planning of the festival of ladies football hosted by ATU in the impressive Air Dome and surrounding pitches.

Donegal ATU squad: Bridin Maguire (Aodh Ruadh), Sophie McFeely ( St Eunan’s), Maria Kelly (St Faithleach’s, Roscommon), Lauren Martin (Glenfin), Danielle McGinley (Glenfin), Karen McLaughlin (Dromard, Longford), Aibhe McDaid (Termon), Ciara McGarvey (Termon), Ciara O’Donnell (St Eunan’s), Eimear Traynor (Donaghmoyne, Monaghan), Julie Trearty (Na Dunaibh), Lauren McBride (Na Dunaibh), Caoimhe Connor (Drumcliffe Rosses, Sligo), Eimear Friel (Gaoth Dobhair), Aimee McIntyre (Comafean, Cavan), Mary Harkin (St Manchan’s, Offaly), Codie Walsh (St Mary’s, Convoy), Catherine Campbell (St Naul’s), Sasha Lavin (Western Gaels, Roscommon), Kaitlyn McBrearty (Killybegs), Victoria Gallagher (Gaeil Fhanada), Claire Doherty (St Eunan’s), Sorcha Murphy (Man O Ward, Dublin), Anna Boyle (St Eunan’s) Megan Havlin (Naomh Padraig, Muff).

Manager: Barney Curran

Backroom team: Sylvester Maguire, Nadine Friel and Tori O’Connor